I am who I am

How often do you catch yourself trying to format God to your own beliefs and desires?  Why is it that we so often try and mold God into what we think He should be like?

I know there are many times when I have caught myself thinking that God couldn’t or shouldn’t do something.  I am sure you have done this yourself too.  “I believe God is… I believe God does… I believe God should…”

The crazy thing about God is… well… we don’t get to decide who He is.

Too many times we believe we have the right to decide what God should do or how he should do it.  Where in the world did we get the audacity to decide what God should be like?

God said to Moses, “I am who I am” in Exodus 3:14; not “I am who you want me to be”.

Maybe it is a lack of proper fear of the Lord that we conjure up enough arrogance to challenge God.  Maybe it is an improper view of the Scriptures or of God himself.

I am not sure where the idea that we get to define God came from; but it is one we need to do away with immediately.

No more “I believe God is… I believe God does… I believe God should…”

Let God be who He is; “I am who I am”.

2 thoughts on “I am who I am

  1. Great job, Jordan! This is a good venue for you and your thoughts. Now tell me who “you’ve” made God out to be!

  2. Gary says:

    Or … let us know who He’s made You to be!

Leave a Reply

