Fish Bones

I don’t know very much.  I haven’t lived very long.  I haven’t experienced many things.

Yet here I am on this blog, with a venue to share my immature thoughts.  Now that is crazy.

I want to let everyone know up front; you won’t agree with everything I say… maybe you won’t agree with anything.  That’s fine.  As long as we can agree that Christ died for our sins and rose again, there isn’t too much else that I am worried about disagreeing on.

I am a product of the influences on my life; my parents, pastors, friends, teachers, and many podcasting pastors.  I am a combination of influences just like you.  There is nothing revolutionary I will be sharing here.  Solomon was right; there really is nothing new under the sun (Ecclesiastes 1:9).  The only difference between me and others will be perspective, presentation, my own experiences, and maybe wording.  Not much else.  So don’t be alarmed if something I say sounds familiar; probably because it is.

I challenge you to take what you learn from this and use it.  I challenge you to leave behind what is useless.  Eat the fish and leave the bones. Not everything I say will be useful; if that is the case for you, reject it.  Try and find just one thing to take away.  In fact, I challenge you to use this principle with everything.  Never blindly take any piece of information.  That is not being teachable, that is being stupid.  But do find one application point.

When we refuse to apply anything, we begin to deceive ourselves.  We will soon harden our hearts beyond repair and will become merely hearers of the Word rather than doers of it (James 1:22).

I will tell you that my creative juices have been flowing, as well as my sermon ideas.  I already have a timeline for 30+ blog posts.  The majority of them will probably stem from my own personal Bible study, so don’t be alarmed when there are 10 blog posts in the same month from a particular book, like Acts.  I will try to keep them short, sweet, and to the point.  I pray that they edify you as much as they do me.  I pray that you will walk away motivated, encouraged, challenged, and full of vision.

Remember.  Eat the fish and leave the bones.

Leave a Reply

