Wake Up

The other day as I was reading Joshua chapter 6, something stood out to me; discipline.  Especially the simple discipline of waking up early.

“Joshua got up early the next morning…” (Joshua 6:12a, NIV)

“On the seventh day, they got up at daybreak…” (Joshua 6:15a, NIV)

I don’t think I have ever seen a place in the Bible that someone woke up late and accomplished great things.  In fact, even Jesus took it upon himself to get up early.

“Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed.” (Mark 1:35, NIV)

I know many of us claim to be night people.  We just can’t pull ourselves out of bed before 9 AM, and even that is early.  Now I am sure there is plenty of truth to that (there is probably some special study done by doctors or something).  But last time I checked, the night was made for sleeping.  Not until the last 100 years have we as people started to stay up long into the night.  Before our artificial lights and technology, everyone had to wake up at dawn because the sun was the only supply of light.

Now maybe my conclusion is way off base (that is quite possible).  But I feel like we have trained ourselves to stay up late and wake up late.  No one ever said it was easy to wake up early, but all throughout the Bible, the ones who wake up early are the ones who do great things.

Maybe it’s time we said goodbye to all of the distractions that we have at night and decided to turn out the lights and go to bed; then wake up early the next morning to meet with God.  I know for me, this takes extreme discipline (I too, hate waking up), but starting my day off with God sets the tone for the day.  When I wait to meet with God until night time, it is almost like telling God that He can wait.  That He is not as important as everything else I have going on in my life.  That He is not what I put first in my life.

So yes, discipline is hard, as is waking up early.  But I think if you just give it a try you will reap the rewards and realize it is more than worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

