More Tradition

“‘Neglecting the commandment of God, you hold to the tradition of men.’ He was also saying to them, ‘You are experts at setting aside the commandment of God in order to keep your tradition. ‘For Moses said, ‘HONOR YOUR FATHER AND YOUR MOTHER’; and, ‘HE WHO SPEAKS EVIL OF FATHER OR MOTHER, IS TO BE PUT TO DEATH’; but you say, ‘If a man says to his father or his mother, whatever I have that would help you is Corban (that is to say, given to God),’ you no longer permit him to do anything for his father or his mother; thus invalidating the word of God by your tradition which you have handed down; and you do many things such as that.’” – (Mark 7:8-13, NASB)

Wow.  That must have stung.

It stings me too.

I feel that we often times neglect God’s Word so that we can hold onto our own type of traditions.

Maybe it is because we are ignorant to it, but for the vast majority, I believe we are fully aware.

Love my enemies? No way.  I’ll hold onto my tradition of loving those who love me.

Take big time risks? No way. I’ll hold onto my tradition of playing it safe.

Kill my sin? No way.  I’ll hold onto my tradition of just sweeping it under the carpet.

Confront my friends sin?  No way.  I’ll hold onto my tradition of keeping my friends happy.

Apologize?  No way.  I’ll hold onto my tradition of thinking I am always right.

Maybe it is just me… but I know I have been guilty of every one of these.  Maybe it is time we stop holding onto our tradition of doing things a certain way and begin to obey God’s way.

I have been thinking a lot about the whole tradition topic lately, especially while reading the book Stuff Christians Like.  I think we hold to way more traditions than we think.

God’s Word or My Tradition.  You choose.

One thought on “More Tradition

Leave a Reply

