15 Things

Here are a few completely random thoughts I had the other day… in no particular order…

1. I learned this one from weight lifting… we all need to deload after a while. We need to be hitting it hard for a couple weeks or months, but we always need to deload our volume at some point; not only to rest our bodies, but our minds! It doesn’t matter if it is weight lifting, school, work, or massive doses of the Bible… deload! Take a week to slow things down a bit and recover. After a slower week you will be primed and ready to kill it once again! (This does not mean stopping completely!!! This just means lowering the volume and intensity! It will help keep you from burnout! Volunteering 213476132 weeks in a row isn’t good. But not volunteering for 1263441 weeks in a row to “rest” is not good either.)

2. Most everything good in life comes by hard work. You cannot expect to have a great relationship with God without putting in a lot of effort. You won’t feel like it many days, but if you desire to have an elite level relationship, you have to do what elite level people do… work! And work HARD!

3. If you hate doing cardio, get a game of basketball, football, or ultimate Frisbee together with some friends. You will get a workout without realizing it… and you will build relationships at the same time! Two birds dead with only one throw!

4. I don’t know how or why, but praying rejuvenates me like nothing else… yet I still don’t do it enough. You would think something so soothing and powerful would keep you coming back for more… but then again it does take work. Just like warming up or cooling down takes work… yet keeps you feeling fresh and pain free.

5. If I could eliminate all unnecessary television and internet I think I would probably find an extra hour or two in the day that I did not know I had.

6. When driving alone, instead of jamming out, pray it out. It might just change your life.

7. Losing or gaining weight is really simple when you think about it… either take in more than you burn or take in less than you burn… simple… but not easy…

8. I really like connecting with God outside… I don’t know why, but it just seems so much better.

9. I feel like we always pray the same way and God might be getting bored. If I were God and had to hear some of my prayers, I think I would fall asleep… especially after hearing the same words and same “thank you for today…” over and over and over…

10. Sleep eight hours every night. You won’t believe the difference. God designed us to sleep… so do it!

11. I really do like Mark McGwire… but if the Cardinals don’t start hitting better soon…

12. I like reading lists for some reason. So I hope you do too.

13. Did these keep getting shorter as they went on?

14. I think so…

15. Until this… I know Mel Kiper, and all of those “wanna-be-scouts”, hated on the Jaguars pick of Tyson Alualu, but I think they should leave the scouting to the actual scouts, who have their jobs because they are good at it. He will be a Pro-bowl player and the Jaguars will be praised for their courage very soon… just wait… and if you dont believe that Mel is ever wrong, read this… “Jamarcus Russell is going to immediately energize that fan base, that football team – on the practice field, in that locker room. Three years from now, you could be looking at a guy that’s certainly one of the elite, top-five quarterbacks in this league. You’re talking about a 2-3 year period once he’s under center. Look out because the skill level that he has is certainly John Elway-like.” – Mel Kiper on Jamarcus Russell when he was first drafted…

2 thoughts on “15 Things

  1. I was with you until about number 11. =) I did like all of them, though! BTW, your unique personality comes through your writing so much. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

