Above All

Leave the best for last, right?

I think that is something we all do… and when I was reading through James he seemed to be doing the same thing…

“But above all…” (James 5:12a, NASB)

Okay, so at this point I am expecting something big.  Something that is going to hit me like a ton of bricks.  Something that seems to be a great and profound theological principle.  But then he says…

“…my brethren, do not swear, either by heaven or by earth or with any other oath; but your yes is to be yes, and your no, no, so that you may not fall under judgment.” (James 5:12b, NASB)

Really?  That’s it?

After all of the build up?  After all of the challenging?  After all of the brilliant illustrations?

That’s it?

That’s the best and most profound thing you’ve got, James?

I feel like it is so boring… or maybe God and James know something I don’t…

Maybe I do need to focus on my word more.  Maybe that is what it all boils down to.

I don’t know.  But I do know what James says.  And his words are part of the inerrant Word of God…

ABOVE ALL… let your yes be yes and your no be no.

One thought on “Above All

  1. Anonymous says:

    I guess he’s making it clear that our word is our reputation. And although that might not be profound, you can’t argue that it’s not important! Thanks for sparking a closer look at this passage.

Leave a Reply

