EAT

I have been on a quest for the past two or so years trying to get “huge”, “jacked”, “beastly, “awesome”… whatever you want to call it.  I just want to get big and strong.

But in order to get bigger, I must EAT BIG.  It is an integral part of growing.  No matter how much weight you may lift, there is no getting bigger unless you fill yourself up with more calories!  Muscle doesn’t grow from nothing.

Now the problem I often encounter is not wanting to eat because… well… I am not hungry.  I know I need to eat.  I technically want to eat because I want to get bigger… but I don’t.  why?  I don’t feel like it.

Now this may be a stretch, but I feel like this correlates well to God’s Word.

I want to become like Christ.  I want to be generous, humble, full of integrity, passionate… etc.

But in order to become like Christ I need to know what he was like.  I need to be changed to be more like him.  I need to read the Bible which will activate me to become like him.  Becoming like Christ doesn’t happen while sitting on the john…

Now the problem I often encounter is not wanting to “eat” God’s Word because… well… I feel like I am not hungry.  I know I need to eat.  I technically want to eat because I want to become more like Christ… but I don’t.  why?  I don’t feel like it.

So as you can see, I am in quite the quagmire.

How do I increase my appetite?

Well there are two ways I have increased my literal food appetite…

1)      Force feed myself until I think eating three chicken breasts, a plate of mashed potatoes, rice, a salad, green beans, corn… etc… is child’s play.

2)      Expend more energy than I am used to, thus making myself more hungry.  However this option doesn’t really increase my overall +/- gain because I take more calories out to only put more in and keeping things even compared to before.

So… maybe if I want to increase my spiritual appetite I just need to become disciplined enough to force feed myself until I am at the point of enjoying larger portions.

Maybe.  Just maybe.

And a side effect of gorging myself on God’s Word would result in me not having any appetite left for the futile and foolish things that the world is always trying to dish up.

“…man does not live by bread alone, but man lives by every word that comes from the mouth of the LORD.” – Deuteronomy 8:3c

One thought on “EAT

  1. Daniel Bell says:

    For what it’s worth Jordan.. I think you are already pretty “jacked” and “beastly” haha. But good message, I like your point

Leave a Reply

