NOT equally applicable?

Welcome back to another installment of “Jordan Steffaniak actually blogging”!  I intend to keep this shorter than the previous post…

Well, I seem to have heard this whole Andy Stanley idea (man… I feel bad disagreeing with the leadership guru himself… do know that I am a big Andy fan myself…) that “everything is equally inspired but not equally applicable” (regarding the Bible) more and more as his communicating for a change book (which is a good book!) continues to grow in popularity (wow… that was a lot of parenthetical statements… I feel like the Apostle Paul… I will try not to do that so much… makes people have to re-read the sentence to understand…).

This leads to the argument of why we don’t preach through books of the Bible at a time!  They don’t apply!  People would quit church if we did that!  People would quit Jesus!  No one would come to know him or grow in him because my sermon wasn’t a 12 step process of how to make your life better; Bible-style edition.

Well… I don’t buy it.  I think that is just our lack of understanding, immaturity, and laziness.

False, you say.  What about Leviticus!  I once tried reading that back in the day when I did the trusty “New years resolution of read the Bible!”  I started in Genesis and just read straight through.  It was all pretty cool until I hit LEVITICUS.  Wow.  Boring!  Weird!  And surely NOT applicable to MY life!

Well I have a question for you.  Two, actually.  Because I too was like this.  I agreed fully with Andy’s statement. Sounded coherent and seemed true in my life.

Why would God include it in our Scripture today if it was not useful and beneficial in some way?

How  in the world could David (the passionate, man after God’s own heart – the one you hear about if your church is cold and stale and your pastor wants you to be passionate and exciting) say he LOVED it… Hmm.

but his delight is in the law of the LORD,
and on his law he meditates day and night. – Psalm 1:2

My soul is consumed with longing
for your rules at all times. – Psalm 119:20

Your testimonies are my delight;
they are my counselors. – Psalm 119:24

Well, when we do the hard work of trying to understand Leviticus we realize that for the Jews this was ground-breaking and life-saving stuff!  Without Leviticus they wouldn’t be able to relate to God!  They wouldn’t be able to have any contact with him!  He is holy.  They are not.  For a good resource on this see here

Leviticus is EQUALLY APPLICABLE if we choose to actually put forth the effort into understanding and interpreting it!

I think this way of thinking (everything isn’t applicable) is just a cop out for not wanting to do the hard work of understanding the Bible.

Do you agree or disagree?

Leave a Reply

