Mexico Mission Lessons from 1 Peter

This past week I was given the great honor and opportunity to travel with my friend Brent Crass and his student ministry to Ensenada Mexico and to teach his church throughout the week. It was a learning experience being my first time out of the country and my first time ever teaching even two days in a row – much less six. My first few days were far more of a struggle physically than I ever expected and I found myself fighting off sleep at every turn. In my defense I look to my model of Jesus who napped after his teaching while his disciples stayed awake (see Mark 4:38 for an example). The first night was outside rather than inside the church. The second night my voice struggled mightily. According to the students and leaders the lessons progressively got better as the week went along before the Spirit moved and found a nerve that I needed to press in on and thus structured my entire last lesson toward that goal. I pray that it bears lasting fruit in their lives. I learned a ton and am thankful for the opportunity itself and the friendships I made – fellow midwesterners (we have to stick together!).

I would likely have taken another week to post these but kept getting bugged about posting them – so here I am at 1:30am before going to work at 5:30am posting these… Intelligence doesnt seem to run in my blood.

1) Suffering and Sovereignty – 1 Peter 1:1-2
2) Suffering and Identity – 1 Peter 1:3-2:10
3) Suffering and Submission – 1 Peter 2:13-3:7
4) Suffering and Motivation – 1 Peter 3:13-4:11
5) Suffering and Perseverance – 1 Peter 4:12-5:14
6) Suffering and Blessing – The Bible (aka – lots and lots of texts… – more of a theology lesson than “textual” lesson – but expositional nonetheless for those who care. Ha!)

Pray they bless

Leave a Reply

